Forums
DoWUK Clan Site :: Forums :: Public Area :: Help!
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Spoony ! help me build
Go to page       >>  
Moderators: Administrator, Mobster, seantheman, Claymore, DazzerG, Ripper, M@vrik, Elvis, B!azey*
Author Post
seantheman
Wed Oct 05 2011, 10:53am
Leg-end

Registered Member #5
Joined: Thu Apr 19 2007, 09:02am
Posts: 2525
Hi All,
With the arrival of BF3 and Skyrim soon, I guess I'll be looking to upgrade.

Current setup is below

Processor: Intel Core2 Extreme X6800
Memory: 4gb RAM
Video Card: Radeon 4870 X2
Motherboard: ASUS PRKPL/1600


I've been looking round a few sites, Overclockers, Pixmania, Komplett etc.
But also going to ask for advice here as more likely to get a decent guide as opposed to randomly picking parts myself
I know a fair bit about cpus as you know, but this building stuff isn't a hobby of mine, or I don't enjoy it, so would rather take advice and just spend the money...im lazy.

Budget for the 4 parts woud be ..mmm 400 would be nice, but I could push it to 600 IF it was REALLY a HUGE improvement over the 400 setup
(Bundle + GFX) is probably the easiest, but if you know of cheaper seperate then I'd gladly go that way

I have a decent PSU and Coolermaster case etc so should be enough space.

All advice and help is appreciated, thanks

[ Edited Wed Oct 05 2011, 10:53am ]
Back to top
spoony
Wed Oct 05 2011, 11:57am
Registered Member #44
Joined: Sat Jun 02 2007, 02:07pm
Posts: 635
lol why spoony help me build ?

i can list you some parts for sure just need to know if you wish Intel or AMD or Nvidia or ATI.

might have evena few spare parts laying around i can arrange for you like i have done for rucker with 2x 5770's that are 8months old or Don with a CPU,MOBO+Ram

600 budget is best though sean, for 400 you might as well stick to what you got now cos you wont get much for that that is much better if as all than you have now.

BTW that 4870x2 is a moster card and is still in the top 15 gpus today, i have one and still use it for the TV which is 60" works ace
Back to top
spoony
Wed Oct 05 2011, 12:02pm
Registered Member #44
Joined: Sat Jun 02 2007, 02:07pm
Posts: 635
i think we need a TECH section on the forum.

i can post weekly or monthly updates on parts prices and places for get stuff from and also whats hot and deals at the moment.
Back to top
seantheman
Wed Oct 05 2011, 01:07pm
Leg-end

Registered Member #5
Joined: Thu Apr 19 2007, 09:02am
Posts: 2525
I have gone and bought the below in the meantime
{DoWUK Link}

Still gonna grab a bundle though later, so any good bundles you know about please do post them.

Ill create a tech section
Back to top
spoony
Wed Oct 05 2011, 01:09pm
Registered Member #44
Joined: Sat Jun 02 2007, 02:07pm
Posts: 635
alao are you running window 7 64BIT or 32BIT. if i was you put 64bit on your pc and use the memory to the max. 4gig is max for 32bit windows systems but your pc set up will only use about 3gb of its due to saving some for back up and all that crap.

you can get a 4x4gb for about 100 quid and will improve how fast yoru system boots and loads games and defo improve BF3
Back to top
seantheman
Wed Oct 05 2011, 01:13pm
Leg-end

Registered Member #5
Joined: Thu Apr 19 2007, 09:02am
Posts: 2525
Windows 7 x64

I have 4gig already, but not as fast as modern RAM i don't think. So was just thinking of upgrading.

Also, tech section created in Public area for ye
Back to top
spoony
Wed Oct 05 2011, 01:14pm
Registered Member #44
Joined: Sat Jun 02 2007, 02:07pm
Posts: 635
got you a list sean and that card is not gonna get enough for BF3 its gonna have fps lag alot believe me.
Back to top
spoony
Wed Oct 05 2011, 01:15pm
Registered Member #44
Joined: Sat Jun 02 2007, 02:07pm
Posts: 635
mint n btw we talking 600 euros or gbp ?
Back to top
seantheman
Wed Oct 05 2011, 01:18pm
Leg-end

Registered Member #5
Joined: Thu Apr 19 2007, 09:02am
Posts: 2525
6870 will lag ? It seems to be a much better card than the 4870. Well prob about 350 GBP, for the bundle, but am I screwed now cause of teh Gfx card i bought ?

{DoWUK Link}
Back to top
spoony
Wed Oct 05 2011, 01:20pm
Registered Member #44
Joined: Sat Jun 02 2007, 02:07pm
Posts: 635
get a 2nd card then and run in crossfire will solve that problem.
Back to top
Go to page       >>   

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System
just using this to see if we can get a google index {DoWUK Link} or click here to get DoWUK into the ATI google listing ... {DoWUK Link}

{DoWUK Link}